Dafanews Kenya

Dafanews Kenya

UEFA Nations League 2022-23

Football   |   May 31, 2022


The 2022-23 UEFA Nations League starts on Wednesday, with all the home nations in action over the next two weeks.

The competition fills the gap created by the World Cup in Qatar moving to November.

England and Northern Ireland play four group games, while Wales have four along with a World Cup play-off final.

Scotland, who meet Ukraine in a World Cup play-off semi-final on Wednesday, face three Nations League matches, including the Republic of Ireland in Dublin.

The Nations League is a biennial competition in its third edition. It was first won by Portugal in 2019 and France are the defending champions after beating Spain in the 2021 final.

How does it work?
As with the 2020-21 edition, the 2022-23 competition consists of three leagues of 16 teams and a fourth of seven.

League A – the top division – and Leagues B and C are split into four groups of four, while League D is made up of a group of four and a three.

The winners of each group in League A qualify for next year’s finals tournament, while the winners of each group in Leagues B, C and D secure promotion to the next league up.

Teams who finish bottom of their groups in League A and B will be relegated, and those in League C will enter a play-off to decide who drops to League D.

Russia, suspended by UEFA because of the invasion of Ukraine, have already been placed bottom of Group B2.

There are four rounds of games between 1 and 14 June and the final two matches will be played from 22-27 September.

The semi-finals will be played on 14 and 15 June, 2023 with the final and third-place play-off on 18 June.

Wales, Belgium, the Netherlands and Poland have applied to host the finals.